The Ethel Woolson Lab is an annual, competitive workshop series named in honor of supporter Gayle Austin’s mother, who has been a generous benefactor of WTP both then and now. 

Launched in 2009 by Jill Patrick (Managing Artistic Director of WTP from 2006-2016), up to three plays by WTP member playwrights are selected each year to participate in the EWL. Each recipient is given a 25-hour developmental workshop, culminating in a rehearsed, staged reading for the public. Each selected playwright is partnered with a support team of artists designed for the needs of the play. All readings take place in the Alliance theatre 3rd Floor Black Box.

Rehearsal for Daryl Lisa Fazio’s EWL of MEDICA, from left to right: Amber Bradshaw, Tisha Whitaker, Mia Kristin Smith, Jacob McGee and Chad Martin.

Submission Criteria:

  • You must be a member of Working Title Playwrights.
  • You must submit a complete full-length play.
  • Your play may not be previously published or produced.
  • If you wish to submit an early or incomplete draft, please submit at least 50 pages of dialogue and an outline of the complete play.
  • You must be willing to collaborate with a team of artists and challenge yourself.
  • You must have the ability to take off work the week of the lab to focus entirely re-writes.
  • Prepare an Artist Statement.
  • If there are questions about the criteria, please email me at

If you have been a recipient of the lab this year, you may not apply for the 2017 season. You will be eligible to apply again for the 2018 season.

Digital submission documents to be sent to managing@workingtitleplaywrights in Word or PDF with the subject: WTP Ethel Woolson Lab Submission.TITLE 
with the following documents attached:

  •  Artist Statement (for example: goals for script development, how far along is your script, how may a dramaturg help you with this project, have you had experience working with one?, do have particular needs in regards to this project?)
  •  Please submit scripts in BLIND copy with a separate title page indicating playwright name and contact information (or if your script is not complete, submit 50 pages of dialogue with a detailed outline including character breakdowns).
  • Headshot
  • Bio (no more than 100 words)
  • Synopsis of the play



2017 Recipents

THE CLUB by Sonhara Eastman
March 26, 7:30pm

August 27, 7:30pm

by Daryl Lisa Fazio
November 19, 7:30pm

 2016 Recipients

When Things Are Lost by Derek Dixon

Confessions of a Hit Man by Henry W. Kimmel

Time Flies by Sherry Camp Paulsen

2015 Recipients

  • Keester by Pamela Turner
  • In the Garden by Amina S. McIntyre
  • The Nightingale Rose or The Bitch of Balaclava by Patricia Henritze

2014 Recipients

  • The Cannibals by Theroun D’Arcy Patterson
  • Hush Now by Penny Micklebury
  • Empty Rooms by Annie Harrison Elliott

2013 Recipients

  • Death and Interior Decoration by Hilary Rogers King
  • The Golden Glow Tea Room by Robin Burke
  • Legacy by Barbara and Carlton Molette
  • The Liar’s Child by Sharon Mathis

2012 Recipients

  • Orbital Debris by Vynnie Meli
  • Breathe Like a Bandage by Neeley Gossett

2011 Recipients

  • American Dismantle by Theroun D’Arcy Patterson
  • The Jew Catcher by David L. Fisher

2010 Recipients

  • Anthony + Cleopatra UNDONE by Patricia Henritze
  • Evelyn in Purgatory by Topher Payne

2009 Recipients

  • The Birdwatcher by Johnny Drago
  • Ladies in Waiting by Sherry Camp Paulsen
  • Divided Among Themselves by Henry W. Kimmel

Pictured in banner: Amber Bradshaw, Tisha Whitaker, Mia Kristin Smith, Jacob McGee and Chad Martin rehearsing for an Ethel Woolson Lab reading of Daryl Lisa Fazio’s MEDICA. Photo credit: Danyale Taylor.